This is a re-post from a while ago but thought it would be helpful for those following a gluten-free diet.
So, I recently decided to try going gluten-free. I have to admit, it’s not very easy. I’ve been confused about what I can and can’t eat. It’s hard looking at labels and figuring out if it’s a gluten-free product.
Table of Contents
Gluten-Free Foods List – Safe Foods for Gluten Allergies
Celiac.com has a Safe Gluten-Free Food List. It’s a long list of gluten-free ingredients. Carry this with you or bookmark on your phone so you can check for gluten-free ingredients while shopping.
It’s quite interesting. I know to avoid wheat, but I wasn’t sure what other grains to avoid. According to this Gluten-Free Ingredients List, these surprising foods are gluten free:: quinoa, corn, rice, seeds (except wheat, rye & barley), polenta, grits, whey, yeast, and more.
So yes, quinoa, corn, rice, whey, grits, and polenta are gluten-free.
I’m still trying to figure out if wheatgrass is gluten-free. Does anyone know this? A lot of the green juices have wheatgrass and barley grass in them, but I’m not sure if those are gluten-free.
So, if you are looking for a gluten-free oatmeal alternative, try quinoa. You can prepare it and use it like oatmeal. Add fruit, syrup, etc. and make a yummy breakfast out of quinoa. Check out Molly Robson’s Oatmeal Alternative Quinoa for Breakfast ideas.
I’m going to try it out and let you know how it goes.
Next Up From ChaChingQueen
- Family Road Trip Stop at O’Charley’s for Dinner
- Denny’s $2 $4 $6 $8 Menu, Including $4 All You Can Eat Pancakes (2022)
Rachel is an Austin blogger, educator, mom, wife, young breast cancer survivor writing about health, saving money, and living a happy life in Austin, Texas.
Rachel has written for HuffPost and Hometalk and has been featured on KXAN, Studio 512, Fox 7 Austin, and CBS Austin.